What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration denied by the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board on November 6, 2023, affirming the WCJ's decision that the SIBTF claim was timely filed and not barred by statute of limitations.
Petition for Reconsideration filed by Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund (SIBTF) challenging the WCJ's August 10, 2023 Findings of Fact, Order & Award denying the statute of limitations defense and finding the SIBTF claim was not time barred.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ properly applied the Talcott two-prong test for timeliness of SIBTF claims, finding no statute of limitations bar because the applicant filed within a reasonable time after learning of probable liability from the WCAB's findings. The Board found no evidence to disturb the WCJ's credibility findings and no Board finding of permanent disability existed to trigger the limitations period earlier.
From the decision · page 1Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund (SIBTF) seeks reconsideration of the August 10, 2023 Findings of Fact, Order & Award, wherein the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) found that applicant's SIBTF claim was not time barred.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
No Board finding of permanent disability existed to trigger the statute of limitations period earlier.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Because the claim was settled by compromise and release without a finding of permanent disability, the limitations period did not start until the applicant learned of probable liability from the Board's findings, which never occurred before the claim filing.
Applicant credibly testified he learned about SIBTF availability in 2020 and filed his claim promptly thereafter.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This credible testimony supported the finding that the claim was filed within a reasonable time after knowledge of probable liability, defeating the statute of limitations defense.
From the decision · page 8That SIF Had Probable Liability. The applicant testified that he, "...learned that Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund was available in 2020. A claim with Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund was then filed on his behalf that same year. On September 2, 2020, Applicant filed his first application for SIF benefits. (Exhibit 1, Application for SIF Dated September 2, 2020.) Prior to contacting Attorney Phillip Allen, he had no information regarding the Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund." (Summary of Evidence, at 4: 8-10). The testimony was uncontroverted and the undersigned made a determination that the applicant was credible. After reflecting on the record as a whole and after carefully weighing and considering the witnesses' demeanor while testifying and the manner in which they testified; their personal interest or lack of interest in the outcome of the proceeding; their capacity to accurately perceive, recollect, and communicate the matters on which they testified; and their attitudes toward this proceeding and towards their giving of testimony (see, e.g., Cal. Evid. Code, § 780 [listing various factors to
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Workmens' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Talcott) (1970) 2 Cal.3d 56
Two-prong test for timeliness of SIBTF claims from Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Workmens' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Talcott) (1970) 2 Cal.3d 56.
Applied by the WCJ and affirmed by the Board to determine that the claim was timely filed within a reasonable time after knowledge of probable liability.
From the decision · page 6We should, in the absence of statutory direction and to avoid an injustice, prevent the barring of an applicant's claim against the Fund before it arises. Therefore, we hold that where, prior to the expiration of five years from the date of injury, an applicant does not know and could not reasonably be deemed to know that there will be substantial likelihood he will become entitled to subsequent injuries benefits, his application against the Fund will not be barred -- even if he has applied for normal benefits against his employer - - if he files a proceeding against the Fund within a reasonable time after he learns from the board's findings on the issue of permanent disability that the Fund has probable liability. (Talcott, supra, 2 Cal.3d at p. 65; emphasis added.)
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant's credible testimony that he learned about SIBTF availability in 2020 and filed his claim promptly thereafter.
From the decision · page 8That SIF Had Probable Liability. The applicant testified that he, "...learned that Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund was available in 2020. A claim with Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund was then filed on his behalf that same year. On September 2, 2020, Applicant filed his first application for SIF benefits. (Exhibit 1, Application for SIF Dated September 2, 2020.) Prior to contacting Attorney Phillip Allen, he had no information regarding the Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund." (Summary of Evidence, at 4: 8-10). The testimony was uncontroverted and the undersigned made a determination that the applicant was credible. After reflecting on the record as a whole and after carefully weighing and considering the witnesses' demeanor while testifying and the manner in which they testified; their personal interest or lack of interest in the outcome of the proceeding; their capacity to accurately perceive, recollect, and communicate the matters on which they testified; and their attitudes toward this proceeding and towards their giving of testimony (see, e.g., Cal. Evid. Code, § 780 [listing various factors to
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.