What the panel ordered
Reconsideration granted; WCJ's decisions in ADJ17509439 and ADJ17190195 rescinded; new decision defers permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees.
Applicant seeks reconsideration of the Joint Findings and Award issued on March 6, 2026, challenging the denial of addition of impairments and apportionment findings.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ rejected addition of impairments due to insufficient evidence of synergy and failure to meet the Vigil standard, but the Appeals Board found the record insufficient and remanded for further development.
From the decision · page 1Applicant seeks reconsideration of the Joint Findings and Award (F&A) issued on March 6, 2026, wherein the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) found, in relevant part, that applicant sustained industrial injury during the cumulative trauma period from September 1, 2010, through January 14, 2023, to his cervical spine, lumbar spine, bilateral shoulders, bilateral elbows, bilateral wrists, bilateral feet, heart, psyche, and in the forms of tinnitus, headaches, and sleep disorder. (ADJ17509439)1 The WCJ further found that applicant sustained an injury to his psyche on January 13, 2023 (ADJ17190195), and a separate injury on July 16, 2020, to his right shoulder, right elbow, left thumb, and bilateral knees (ADJ15346443). With respect to the cumulative injury, the WCJ found that applicant sustained 87% permanent disability. The WCJ also determined that "Kite" did not apply and the medical evidence did not support it.
The WCJ erred in allowing apportionment to the lumbar spine contrary to statutory mandates protecting peace officers from apportionment for certain injuries; the Appeals Board rescinded the apportionment findings and deferred the issue for further development.
From the decision · page 15Although section 4663 generally mandates apportionment to pre-existing or non-industrial causes, subdivision (e) provides a specific exception, precluding apportionment for enumerated classes of employees with presumed compensable injuries. Applicant, employed as a deputy sheriff, falls within this protected class. Specifically, section 3213.2(a) establishes a presumption of compensability for low back impairments sustained by peace officers who have served full-time for at least five years and are required to wear a duty belt as a condition of employment. For these qualifying injuries, provision of the awarded compensation, including full medical treatment, disability indemnity, and death benefits, are immune from apportionment.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
AME Dr. Hoffman concluded a synergistic relationship between psychiatric and orthopedic impairments but deferred orthopedic ADL impact evaluation to Dr. Brourman, creating evidentiary insufficiency.
Favours neutral
This lack of comprehensive evaluation led to remand for further development of the record.
From the decision · page 13Here, AME Dr. Hoffman concluded that a synergistic relationship exists between applicant's psychiatric symptoms and physical injuries. Specifically, AME Dr. Hoffman reasoned that applicant's chronic pain undermines his mood, motivation, and concentration, while his orthopedic injuries amplify the impact on his ADLs beyond what the psychiatric condition alone would cause. However, AME Dr. Hoffman could not individually identify the ADLs listed in the AMA Guides during his deposition and explicitly deferred the specific evaluation of how the orthopedic conditions affect the ADLs to AME Dr. Brourman.
WCJ erred in allowing apportionment to lumbar spine contrary to statutory protections for peace officers under Labor Code sections 3213.2 and 4663(e).
Favours Applicant prevailed
This legal error required rescinding apportionment findings and deferring the issue.
From the decision · page 15Although section 4663 generally mandates apportionment to pre-existing or non-industrial causes, subdivision (e) provides a specific exception, precluding apportionment for enumerated classes of employees with presumed compensable injuries. Applicant, employed as a deputy sheriff, falls within this protected class. Specifically, section 3213.2(a) establishes a presumption of compensability for low back impairments sustained by peace officers who have served full-time for at least five years and are required to wear a duty belt as a condition of employment. For these qualifying injuries, provision of the awarded compensation, including full medical treatment, disability indemnity, and death benefits, are immune from apportionment.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Concluded a synergistic relationship between psychiatric symptoms and physical injuries, but deferred evaluation of orthopedic impact on ADLs to Dr. Brourman.
The opinion was weighed for the issue of addition of impairments and found insufficient alone due to lack of comprehensive evaluation with orthopedic conditions.
From the decision · page 1Applicant contends that the reporting of Agreed Medical Evaluator (AME) Micah Hoffman, M.D., constitutes substantial medical evidence supporting the synergistic addition of impairments pursuant to Vigil v. County of Kern (2024) 89 Cal.Comp.Cases 686 (Appeals Board en banc) (Vigil) and Athens Administrators v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Kite) (2013) 78 Cal.Comp.Cases 213 (writ denied). Applicant maintains that the WCJ improperly rejected AME Dr. Hoffman's opinion by requiring a degree of mathematical precision regarding activities of daily living (ADLs) that neither Vigil nor Kite demands. According to applicant, AME Dr. Hoffman adequately explained
Rejected additive method for orthopedic injuries, found no synergistic effect, and did not address cross-system interaction with psychiatric conditions.
The opinion was weighed and found insufficient to support addition of impairments due to lack of synergy and failure to address psychiatric interaction.
From the decision · page 2Applicant also contends that the WCJ's Joint Opinion on Decision fails to comply with Labor Code section 53132 because it does not meaningfully address or reconcile applicant's testimony concerning his functional limitations with the medical evidence. Finally, applicant argues that the WCJ improperly relied upon the opinion of orthopedic AME Steven Brourman, M.D., to reject addition of impairments, because he evaluated potential synergy only among the orthopedic impairments and did not address the alleged cross-system interaction between applicant's orthopedic and psychiatric conditions. Applicant maintains that the orthopedic and psychiatric impairments warrant addition rather than combination under the CVC and therefore support a finding of 100% permanent disability.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005) 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604
Applied to evaluate the sufficiency of medical opinions regarding addition of impairments.
From the decision · page 12(1970) 1 Cal.3d 627 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 16].) To constitute substantial evidence, a medical opinion must state its conclusions in terms of reasonable probability, avoid speculation, rely on pertinent facts and an adequate examination and history, and explain the reasoning supporting its conclusions. (Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005) 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604, 621 (Appeals Board en banc) (Escobedo).) Medical reports do not constitute substantial evidence when they contain known errors or rely on facts that are no longer germane, inadequate medical histories or examinations, or incorrect legal theories. Likewise, a medical opinion cannot support the Board's findings if it rests on surmise,
Vigil v. County of Kern (2024) 89 Cal.Comp.Cases 686
Applicant must present evidence explaining impact of impairments on ADLs to rebut the Combined Values Chart (CVC) table (Vigil).
Applied to assess whether addition of impairments is supported by evidence of synergy affecting ADLs.
From the decision · page 12In determining whether the application of the CVC table has been rebutted in a case, an applicant must present evidence explaining what impact applicant's impairments have had upon their ADLs. Where the medical evidence demonstrates that the impact upon the ADLs overlaps, without more, an applicant has not rebutted the CVC table. Where the medical evidence demonstrates that there is effectively an absence of overlap, the CVC table is rebutted, and it need not be used. (Vigil, supra, 89 Cal.Comp.Cases at p. 692, italics added.) The law requires the Appeals Board to base its decisions on substantial evidence. (Lab. Code, § 5903, 5952(d); Lamb v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 274 [39 Cal.Comp.Cases 310]; Garza v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 500]; LeVesque v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd.
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant's testimony concerning functional limitations was not meaningfully addressed or reconciled with medical evidence by the WCJ.
From the decision · page 2Applicant also contends that the WCJ's Joint Opinion on Decision fails to comply with Labor Code section 53132 because it does not meaningfully address or reconcile applicant's testimony concerning his functional limitations with the medical evidence. Finally, applicant argues that the WCJ improperly relied upon the opinion of orthopedic AME Steven Brourman, M.D., to reject addition of impairments, because he evaluated potential synergy only among the orthopedic impairments and did not address the alleged cross-system interaction between applicant's orthopedic and psychiatric conditions. Applicant maintains that the orthopedic and psychiatric impairments warrant addition rather than combination under the CVC and therefore support a finding of 100% permanent disability.
AME Dr. Hoffman's inability to identify specific ADLs and reliance on Dr. Brourman for orthopedic impact evaluation created evidentiary insufficiency.
From the decision · page 13Here, AME Dr. Hoffman concluded that a synergistic relationship exists between applicant's psychiatric symptoms and physical injuries. Specifically, AME Dr. Hoffman reasoned that applicant's chronic pain undermines his mood, motivation, and concentration, while his orthopedic injuries amplify the impact on his ADLs beyond what the psychiatric condition alone would cause. However, AME Dr. Hoffman could not individually identify the ADLs listed in the AMA Guides during his deposition and explicitly deferred the specific evaluation of how the orthopedic conditions affect the ADLs to AME Dr. Brourman.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.