What the panel ordered
The WCAB granted the Petition for Reconsideration, affirmed the Findings of Fact and Orders issued by the WCJ on June 23, 2025, and amended Finding 2 to clarify that the applicant was providing a benefit to the employer at the time of injury under Labor Code section 3600(a)(2).
Defendant sought reconsideration of the Findings of Fact and Orders issued by the WCJ, which found the injury arose out of and in the course of employment (AOE/COE). The WCJ issued a Report and Recommendation to deny the petition. The WCAB granted the petition for reconsideration and affirmed the F&O with an amendment to Finding 2.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The applicant was found to be providing a benefit to the employer at the time of injury, meeting the condition under Labor Code section 3600(a)(2). The injury occurred during a lunch meeting to discuss personnel issues, which was reasonably expected and beneficial to the employer.
From the decision · page 1Defendant seeks reconsideration of the Findings of Fact and Orders (F&O) issued by the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ), wherein the WCJ found that applicant's injury arose out of and occurred in the course of employment (AOE/COE).
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant and co-supervisor met at a restaurant during lunch to discuss personnel issues related to their employment.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This meeting was found to be a benefit to the employer, satisfying the condition under Labor Code section 3600(a)(2) for injury arising out of and in the course of employment.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Supports the finding that the injury was industrially related and the applicant was acting within the course of employment.
No evidence of a policy prohibiting work-related discussions in public or that applicant was aware of such a policy.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Negates defendant's argument that the public location of the discussion negates the employment benefit.
WCJ found no impeachable inconsistencies in applicant's credibility despite defendant's arguments.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Supports the credibility of applicant's testimony and the finding of injury AOE/COE.
From the decision · page 11We have given the WCJ's credibility determinations great weight because the WCJ had the opportunity to observe the demeanor of the witnesses. (Garza, supra, at pp. 318-319.) Moreover, following our independent review of the record, we conclude there is no evidence of considerable substantiality that would warrant rejecting the WCJ's credibility determinations (Id.)
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
LaTourette v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1998) 17 Cal.4th 644
Injury arises out of and in the course of employment requires a two-prong analysis: injury must occur in the course of employment and be reasonably attributable to employment or incidental thereto.
The injury occurred during a lunch meeting to discuss personnel issues, which was reasonably expected and beneficial to the employer.
From the decision · page 7arises out of and in the course of employment requires a two-prong analysis. (LaTourette v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1998) 17 Cal.4th 644 [63 Cal.Comp.Cases 253].)
Garza v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312
Reasonable doubts as to whether an injury arose out of and in the course of employment are resolved in favor of the applicant.
The evidence supported that the injury was industrially related and the applicant was providing a benefit to the employer.
From the decision · page 7Although it is the employee's burden to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that they sustained a compensable injury, the concept of what constitutes a work-related injury is broad. (South Coast Framing v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Clark) (2015) 61 Cal.4th 291, 297- 298, 302 [80 Cal.Comp.Cases 489]; Lab. Code, § 3600(a), 3202.5.) The determination of whether an injury arises out of and in the course of employment is based on "criteria" that are "fluid," and "must therefore be decided on the facts peculiar to each case." (Westbrooks v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1988) 203 Cal.App.3d 249 [53 Cal.Comp.Cases 157]; see also, LaTourette, supra, at pp. 651-652.) Reasonable doubts as to whether an injury arose out of and in the course of employment are resolved in favor of an applicant. (Garza v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312, 317 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 500], emphasis added.)
Labor Code section 3600(a)(2)
Labor Code section 3600(a)(2) requires that at the time of injury, the employee is performing service growing out of and incidental to employment and acting within the course of employment.
Applicant was found to be providing a benefit to the employer at the time of injury, satisfying this condition.
From the decision · page 6Notwithstanding the above, Labor Code section 3600 only imposes liability on an employer for workers' compensation benefits if an employee sustains an injury AOE/COE. An employer is liable for workers' compensation benefits, where, at the time of the injury, an employee is "performing service growing out of and incidental to his or her employment and is acting within the course of employment." (Lab. Code, § 3600(a)(2).) The determination of whether an injury
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant and co-supervisor consistently testified they planned and discussed personnel issues during lunch meeting, which was a benefit to employer.
No evidence defendant had a policy prohibiting work-related discussions in public or that applicant was aware of such policy.
Applicant's credibility was upheld by the WCJ, who found no impeachable inconsistencies despite defendant's arguments.
From the decision · page 11We have given the WCJ's credibility determinations great weight because the WCJ had the opportunity to observe the demeanor of the witnesses. (Garza, supra, at pp. 318-319.) Moreover, following our independent review of the record, we conclude there is no evidence of considerable substantiality that would warrant rejecting the WCJ's credibility determinations (Id.)
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.