What the panel ordered
Reconsideration granted; prior Findings and Award rescinded; new Findings of Fact issued affirming injury AOE/COE and need for medical treatment; issues of permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees deferred; matter returned to trial level for further proceedings and consultative rating.
Defendant CIGA for Lumbermens Mutual filed a timely, verified petition for reconsideration of the September 20, 2023 Findings and Award. The WCAB granted reconsideration, rescinded the prior Findings and Award, and substituted new Findings of Fact, deferring permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees, and returning the matter for further proceedings.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
Defendant did not dispute injury AOE/COE or need for medical treatment; WCAB affirmed WCJ's findings on these issues.
From the decision · page 1We have considered the allegations of the Petition for Reconsideration and the contents of the Report of the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) with respect thereto. Based on our review of the record, and for the reasons stated in the WCJ's Report, which we adopt and incorporate, we will grant reconsideration, rescind the Findings and Award, substitute it with new Findings of Fact, that defer the issues of permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees. Defendant does not dispute the issue of injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment (AOE/COE) or need for medical treatment. Therefore, we will affirm the WCJ's findings in this regard and return this matter to the trial level for further proceedings, as determined appropriate by the WCJ to obtain a consultative rating from the Disability Evaluation Unit and for a new decision and reissuance of the Award.
Issues of permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees are deferred pending further proceedings and consultative rating from the Disability Evaluation Unit.
From the decision · page 2FINDINGS OF FACT 1. the applicant, while employed during the period October 1, 1971 through February 13, 1974, as a professional athlete, Occupational Group Number 590, at various locations, in California, by California Golden Seals sustained injury arising out of and in the course of employment to his cervical spine, lumbar spine, and left and right hand/multiple fingers and psyche. 2. At the time of injury, the employer's workers' compensation carriers were CIGA for Lumbermens Mutual, in liquidation, for the California Golden Seals; Argonaut for the California Golden Seals. 3. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5412, applicant's date of injury is January 29, 2019. 4. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5500.5 the last date of injurious exposure was February 13, 1974, and the responsible employer is the California Golden Seals with coverage for worker's compensation being provided by California Insurance Guarantee Association for Lumbermens Mutual Casualty, in liquidation. 5. The issues of permanent disability and apportionment are deferred.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Defendant did not dispute injury AOE/COE or need for medical treatment.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This concession led the WCAB to affirm the WCJ's findings on injury and medical treatment.
From the decision · page 1We have considered the allegations of the Petition for Reconsideration and the contents of the Report of the workers' compensation administrative law judge (WCJ) with respect thereto. Based on our review of the record, and for the reasons stated in the WCJ's Report, which we adopt and incorporate, we will grant reconsideration, rescind the Findings and Award, substitute it with new Findings of Fact, that defer the issues of permanent disability, apportionment, and attorney fees. Defendant does not dispute the issue of injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment (AOE/COE) or need for medical treatment. Therefore, we will affirm the WCJ's findings in this regard and return this matter to the trial level for further proceedings, as determined appropriate by the WCJ to obtain a consultative rating from the Disability Evaluation Unit and for a new decision and reissuance of the Award.
Applicant's date of injury is January 29, 2019, pursuant to Labor Code § 5412.
Favours neutral
This date controls the applicable permanent disability schedule and further proceedings.
From the decision · page 2FINDINGS OF FACT 1. the applicant, while employed during the period October 1, 1971 through February 13, 1974, as a professional athlete, Occupational Group Number 590, at various locations, in California, by California Golden Seals sustained injury arising out of and in the course of employment to his cervical spine, lumbar spine, and left and right hand/multiple fingers and psyche. 2. At the time of injury, the employer's workers' compensation carriers were CIGA for Lumbermens Mutual, in liquidation, for the California Golden Seals; Argonaut for the California Golden Seals. 3. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5412, applicant's date of injury is January 29, 2019. 4. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5500.5 the last date of injurious exposure was February 13, 1974, and the responsible employer is the California Golden Seals with coverage for worker's compensation being provided by California Insurance Guarantee Association for Lumbermens Mutual Casualty, in liquidation. 5. The issues of permanent disability and apportionment are deferred.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code § 5412
Date of injury for cumulative trauma determined pursuant to Labor Code § 5412.
Applicant's date of injury is January 29, 2019, pursuant to Labor Code § 5412.
From the decision · page 2FINDINGS OF FACT 1. the applicant, while employed during the period October 1, 1971 through February 13, 1974, as a professional athlete, Occupational Group Number 590, at various locations, in California, by California Golden Seals sustained injury arising out of and in the course of employment to his cervical spine, lumbar spine, and left and right hand/multiple fingers and psyche. 2. At the time of injury, the employer's workers' compensation carriers were CIGA for Lumbermens Mutual, in liquidation, for the California Golden Seals; Argonaut for the California Golden Seals. 3. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5412, applicant's date of injury is January 29, 2019. 4. Pursuant to Labor Code § 5500.5 the last date of injurious exposure was February 13, 1974, and the responsible employer is the California Golden Seals with coverage for worker's compensation being provided by California Insurance Guarantee Association for Lumbermens Mutual Casualty, in liquidation. 5. The issues of permanent disability and apportionment are deferred.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.